Key to my heart

Not many people know the full disclosure story of how I came to live in Arizona. There is always more to any story than what is told initially. I am ready to give you a little bit more insight.

As you may recall, I took a weekend trip to Phoenix in April of 2010. I was instantly in awe of the sunshine and cactus. But there was more that made my heart pitter-patter on that weekend trip. More that wrapped my heart and consumed my thoughts. I tried to forget but I simply couldn’t. I thought I was going nuts, I constantly thought about when we would be together again. Once I found out moving to Arizona was going to happen, I was ecstatic. I knew this was fate.

I was to report to our Phoenix office for my first training day on a Monday but I drove up Sunday night. Partially because I didn’t want to be alone that night after dropping off my sweet friend at the airport and partially because I knew I couldn’t wait one more night to be reunited. After finding a hotel for the night I jumped into my car, ready for the adventure.

Down the road from the office is a little cafe. In April they served me the most delicious Greek Chicken Sandwich I had ever had in my life. No, scratch that, it was the most delicious sandwich I had ever tasted. It came to me at a time when I all but gave up hope that gluten-free bread could be tasty and that I could one day go into a restaurant and order a sandwich and enjoy it.

I talked about this sandwich for weeks. I constantly wanted to eat it. Naturally it was the first thing I wanted when I arrived in Phoenix. When I arrived, I discovered they had eliminated it from the menu. Not a single person in the restaurant knew what gluten-free was, let alone the fact that two months prior they served the most amazing sandwich known to (wo)man on gluten-free bread. Talk about crushing. I honestly can’t tell you what I did that night. Maybe I ordered a salad from them not wanting to be judged for walking out, maybe I went elsewhere for dinner, maybe I had a round at the hotel bar. I don’t remember, all I remember was wanting my sandwich and being upset that I was rejected by the sandwich gods.

That is until I found my new sandwich love. Seriously folks, if you find your self in Tucson you must go to Renee’s Organic Oven.  Homegirl knows what she is doing in the kitchen. Their pizzas are unique and amazing, their veggie sandwich knocks me off my feet, and their cake isn’t half bad either! 🙂 Oh and almost everything on the menu is gluten-free or can be gluten-free. I picked up ingredients to make my own version so expect to see a glorious sandwich appearing on this blog soon.

I hope your Sunday was full of happiness and yummy sandwhiches.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Phoenix Trip, Tucson and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

