Where the table once was

I once had a beautiful solid oak dining room table. I often felt a little goofy eating at the table alone most nights, but I made an effort to sit down and throughly enjoy my meal each night.

Back in 2005, I purchased a condo. I clearly remember the process of purchasing the necessary home goods. As a thrifty gal, I didn’t go too wild. I looked for quality and classic pieces that I expected would carry me from that condo and the life of a single chic into a completely different phase of my life. A life that I imagined would be a few years away but would involve an eventual house purchase with my new husband.  

Now six years later, I no longer live in that condo or have that beautiful table. I don’t have a pending house purchase and I am nowhere near an engagement ring. But you know what, I am ok with all of that.

So okay that I moved to Tucson ten months ago but I still haven’t replaced my table. It is strange to be such a foodie and lack a table. Honestly, it embarrasses me that I can’t offer a seat at a table to friends if I invite them over for dinner.

Clearly I should purchase a new table but here is the situation: With all the other decisions to be made I find one even as simple as a table to be overwhelming.

Debating style options – more modern or more classic…

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Tucson. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where the table once was

  1. Arianna says:

    I am a big fan of modern. LOVE the table set with the white table and lime green chairs 🙂

  2. Bella's mom says:

    Neither modern nor classic. wait until you find a table you LOVE. it may be modern, classic, mission, southwestern, contemporary, retro…who knows. otherwise you will always be comparing your current table to your last one and it will never be good enough…kind of like men….but tables last longer, you can rearrange thier limbs (chairs) to your liking and they always hard…..

  3. Bella's mom says:

    One more thing, post-30 you do not buy thowaway furniture….everytime you move you take your furniture with you.

  4. Susan says:

    I recently moved back to Phoenix after living in Buffalo, NY for 3 years. I can honestly relate when it comes to deciding what furniture to purchase. I cannot tell you how many times I have something as small as a dish towel to the size of chair in my shopping cart and how many times I have put those items back, and walked out the store empty handed. I moved with what would fit in my car, and it was the best decision I ever made. You will cross paths, with a table you love and you will just know.

Leave a Reply

