Gluten Free Press

Hey all!!

I was excited to see an article included in the Map My Ride April newsletter. This month Chef Biju Thomas wrote a quick article about if gluten-free is a good choice for athletes.

After reading the article and the comments I tend to agree with many of the readers that nothing new was presented nor was it a very well written piece or backed up with scientific studies and research. However, some valid points were made.

As someone living with Celiac I know first hand the challenge of finding something to eat at a restaurant, how you think of everything you can’t eat rather than everything you can, how it can feel like a burden, and can be challenging to explain to other people.

The gluten-free movement is quickly growing and for those of us with Celiac Disease or a gluten or wheat allergy or sensitivity I consider this beneficial to us collectively. It does sadden me to know that many people do not understand the damage consuming gluten is for those of us with Celiac. Often it is assumed that a little bit can’t hurt. The truth is, once the body of a Celiac is healed any amount consumed will be seen as a poison to the digestive system and reactions become more violent.

An increase of people turning to a gluten-free diet as a weight loss method has helped increase the awareness and demand for gluten-free products and food labeling regulations. These people may see a reduction in weight or feel physical benefits such as more energy, clearer skin, and less stomach aches. The cause of these benefits is not the elimination of gluten but rather because as they reduce gluten they are often replacing it with better eating habits (whole and natural foods) and consuming more water. Things we all should focus on in our meal plans regardless of allergies or intolerance.

Just because a product is labeled gluten-free does not mean it is a healthy product. An athlete or a sedentary individual without a true need to eliminate gluten honestly shouldn’t be concerned so much with a label but instead what is the product. The naturally gluten-free foods should be the primary focus of everyone’s diet.

Awesome (naturally gluten-free) foods for all:

  • vegetables
  • fruits
  • meats and fish
  • rice
  • beans
  • eggs
  • nuts

Happy eating everyone!

This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten Free Press

  1. I was diagnosed with Celiac’s disease at the beginning of 2011. Before that I would eat anything and everything and can’t seem to stop. I’ve had very bad stomach pains and lots of other pain in my abdomen area for a long time. I try so hard to eat foods without gluten because of the fear the doctor has put into me, but get so dang frustrated. I try to bake bread but seem to mess it up. If I get it right then it goes bad fast. It’s like I can’t seem to maintaina healthy diet and enjoy food. I have no patience for making “everything” that I eat and no will power. I’m 287 pounds and 5’4″ tall and way overweight according to the BMI index. Living in remote region in Northern Alaska makes it a bit incovenient to buy gluten-free products without bartering a seal and a whale for shipping. So… I . I dont know how much longer I can keep this up. I constantly say to myself that I’ve been eating this way for 41 years and have been miserable for just about that long that why does it matter if I’m gluten free? It’s an everyday struggle with life and I really have no support groups except what’s online.

    • Carolyn says:

      Hi Fernando. I completely understand your thinking regarding it being a constant battle between eating what is good for you and is healthy and the challenge of changing long ago set habits. With your bread, try freezing it and just taking out a slice or two as needed. Have you tried ordering products online? I took me nine years to truly understand how important eating gluten free was for my body. After eating strict gluten free for two years I can honestly say I never want to knowingly ingest something glutenous because as the body heals the reaction gets worse and it is just not worth it to me. I hope the switch will happen much sooner for you and you will experience how much better you feel off the gluten.

Leave a Reply

