Hump Day Love

I came across this blog post and thought that it was a beautiful reminder to be proud of our bodies and strengths. Too often, negative thoughts creep into our minds about ourselves and as judgements towards others.

Simply put, self-love is a love for oneself and a regard for one’s own interest. When was the last time you gave yourself a genuine compliment? Having a tough time remembering? Now when was the last time you thought or vocalized something negative about yourself? I’d venture to guess that was easier to recall.

Over the years I have struggled with negative thoughts, guilt over showering myself with positive thoughts, and achieving a healthy state. As a teenager I disliked myself for many reasons: wearing glasses, being short, lacking athletic ability, too thin, and a general belief I wasn’t good enough. In junior high everyone I knew was on a diet and even though by any standard I was underweight I felt I had to speak negatively about myself and watch what I ate in order to be accepted. It was at that age that I started wearing my brothers shirts and wearing as many layers as I could. I convinced myself that if I had big clothes and layers no one would know my size and that I could blend in. The truth was, people just found something else to pick on me for. Many days I felt defeated.

Over the years I have grown stronger but still some days are better than others. I have learned that the items I disliked as a teenager are all things I could change about myself or I could learn to accept and appreciate them as qualities that make me who I am.

One year ago as I was battling a few mean monsters I plastered my bedroom mirror with post it notes. I read the notes every morning and every night to drill it into my mind that I was strong enough, that someone was in my corner, that everything would work out, and even that I looked nice in that shirt. I kept all my notes when I moved but I never got around to reposting them. Or rather, I didn’t until last night.

After reposting my notes I wrote up a list of reasons why I love myself. A handful of these items include: my sense of humor, openness to new experiences, my walk, how my smile is the best part of someone’s day, I don’t deny my heart, my mind, or my body’s desire, and because I AM worthy of love.

 Go ahead now, shower yourself with some self-love in my comment section.

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hump Day Love

  1. Callie says:

    You are an inspiration girl!! I look forward to reading each and every blog! You definitely motivate me!!

  2. Angela says:

    I was also inspired by that post yesterday! I refered to it in my blog post today as well! What a wonderful concept…self love!

  3. You deserve all the love you get. You are beautiful 😀

  4. Callie says:

    I believe I should be 🙂 Are you trying to say you will be making a visist that I actually might be around for?!

  5. How about Carolyn love!? 😉 AWESOME post. Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Simple, Delicious, and Nutritious Chicken Pot Pie Recipe | Fitness Health and Food

  7. Carolyn,

    I am so glad that my self love post ‘spoke’ to you. You are indeed a beautiful and talented woman and you deserve all the happiness in the world. What a wonderfully written post. I hope to hear from you again soon :).

Leave a Reply

