Sabino Saturday Recap

Good morning!

I feel like I have been slacking on my weekend recaps lately. I would like to say that I have been so busy living life that I just haven’t taken the time to sit in front of a computer. Sadly though, it is more a combination of that along with being a slacker, doing homework, and just being overwhelmed with fun stuff to share that I don’t know where to start. I guess that last part is a good situation to be in.

So let’s get into the details of Saturday’s hike!

I started the day with some hiking fuel of a protein shake (Sun Warrior powder, almond milk, chocolate powder, 1/2 banana, and scoop of peanut butter) and a microwaved fluffy egg.

My gear for the day was ready to go and contained the usual: sunscreen, jelly beans, first aid kit, peanut butter and banana bagel sandwich for mid-hike fuel, along with 3 1/2 liters of water.

We had a fun group hiking, my friend Megan and her husband/my co-worker, another co-worker and his special lady, and a fellow recent Tucson transplant I was acquainted with.

The group set off on our first 4 miles of the day heading east from the parking lot with hopes the trail wasn’t as packed as the parking lot.

After about two hours of hiking we arrived at our half way (destination) point. The hike to Seven Falls results in wonderful views of mountains and seven water falls (hence the name) and three pools of water.

After hanging out for a couple of hours we started the hike back. The hike itself wasn’t too challenging in terrain or incline but I am adjusting back to the heat and intense sun. I throughly enjoyed it but at one point I do recall wishing I was done because I really wanted to drink the largest smoothie ever.

Once we were less than a mile away from the parking lot we decided to try a different path. On that path we ran into these guys.

They were so cute and scruffy. I was amazed at how close they let us get to them. They behaved like we were invisible. Definitely not like the wimpy deer in Minnesota, or the ones that like to jump in front of moving vehicles.

Have a lovely day!

This entry was posted in Hiking, Tucson, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

