Here I am!

Here I sit, fingers flying over the keyboard as they before but this time it is different.

Nine months ago I took my first quick weekend trip to Phoenix. After that brief weekend I found myself constantly being distracted by thoughts of sunny skies and mountains screaming to be climbed. Once I returned to my home in Minnesota I clicked onto the current job openings within my organization and found myself applying to a position in a part of Arizona I had never been to. Moving out of Minnesota was in the back of my mind for some time but often I wondered if it would ever happen. I was surprised to see a job opening but decided it was a sign that I needed to apply. I knew in my heart if the time was now that I would be offered the job.

At the end of July 2010, I left my comfortable, albeit stationary life. After much consideration I decided it was time to throw caution out the window of the Uhaul aka Jasper and see what my life would look like from another part of the country. And there began a 26+ hour Uhaul ride with a friend as close as a sister to me. 

 New Mexico-the longest 14 hours EVER!

 Now here I sit about five months into an eighteen month contract in Arizona. It is time for me to start living each day as the opportunity that it is and time for me to document for family and friends what my life is like down here. I have no idea what my life will look like one year from today. Everyday I have to remind myself that not having a set plan is okay and being internally happy really is more important than knowing what is lying around the corner. I suspect this year will bring plenty of changes and excitement. I hope you will enjoy the ride, both the ups and the downs, right by my side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here I am!

  1. Arianna says:

    Though I miss you dearly, I am super excited to share in your AZ adventure with you! This blog is a most excellent way to document your incredible journey 🙂

  2. Raya says:

    I love this!!! For me, the drive was the longest in TEXAS. OMG, it took more than a day I swear. We have similar stories I think, except I came out here with no job!!! Cheers to us and the joy of the unknown!!

    • Carolyn says:

      Hi Raya,
      I can definitely see how Texas would have been a long state for you!!
      Congrats to you for making a huge change. I wish you the best of luck on your journey.

Leave a Reply

